Pin It


Pioneers of Industrial Design Postage Stamps Let You Send Mail With Style.

NOTE: You are on an old site. Find this and all new posts here

The Pioneers of American Industrial Design (Forever®) stamp sheet honors 12 of the nation's most important and influential industrial designers: Peter-Muller Munck, Frederick Hurton Rhead, Raymond Leowy, Donald Deskey, Walter Dorwin Teague, Henry Dreyfuss, Norman Bel Geddes, Dave Chapman, Greta von Nessen, Elliot Noyes, Russel Wright and Gilbert Rhode.

Encompassing everything from furniture and electric kitchen appliances to corporate office buildings and passenger trains, the work of these designers helped shape the look of everyday life in the 20th century.

Each stamp features the name of a designer and a photograph of an object created by the designer, as well as a description of the object and the year or years when the object was created. The selvage features a photograph of the "Airflow" fan designed by Robert Heller around 1937.

Art director Derry Noyes selected the objects that appear on the stamps.

The Pioneers of American Industrial Design stamps are being issued as Forever stamps. Forever stamps are always equal in value to the current First-Class Mail one-ounce rate.

Made in the USA.

A commemorative set is also available for collectors:

buy them here


C'mon people, it's only a dollar.

Creative Commons License The images, text and information by laura sweet on this site are licensed and protected under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License. If you reproduce or re-purpose, be sure to credit this blog and link back to the post. Thanks.